Author Topic: How is a level described?  (Read 1142 times)

Offline ETQA Administrator

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
How is a level described?
« on: August 22, 2015, 02:37:38 PM »
Qualifications and unit standards are registered at particular levels of the NQF. Level descriptors are statements about the kind of learning that can be expected of a qualification or unit standard registered at a particular level of the NQF. These descriptions are broad and generic but they help to show  what a qualification at a particular level will demand of a learner. Outcomes must be comparable with the level descriptors for that particular level.

The level descriptors are statements about the applied competence i.e. the knowledge, skills and applications at a particular level, and the autonomy of the learning process i.e. how much responsibility does the learner have for his/her own learning? Level descriptors can be found on the SAQA website as well as the Council on Higher Education website, but we have attached the approved descriptors for Levels 1-4 of the NQF, as Appendix A. The NSB regulations require that for a qualification to be registered at any level of the NQF, a minimum of 72 credits has to be at the level at which it is registered.

To illustrate, a Certificate at NQF 5 means that there are 72 credits of the certificate at Level 5 and that the outcomes meet the requirements of the level descriptors at Level 5.
Education Training Questions and Answers Forum

Division of


SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk